Home

The probinsyano in me read se-re-ni-teya. Shame! Hahaha. I finally paid Serenitea a visit when I passed by Burgos Circle in BGC and saw a long queue inside the store. So there, I learned it’s about teas and it made me smile (read:laugh and squirm deep inside) at the thought. There I realized it reads se-re-ni-ti! I heard a lot about milk teas of late. After fro-yos, these “Zagu-like” drinks filled the hands of taong-labas/taong-tambay-ng-coffee-shops/taong-gala/taong-nagja-jogging sa fort etc. etc. etc. Yep! I can’t find the words for those, for people like me. I joined the queue. I was a little nervous; I didn’t know how to order. So I just let 5 people get ahead of me even if I arrived first. I was just plainly observing them. Ha! And then I was finally ready to order. Wintermelon-large-50% sugar-panna cotta sinkers, I said to the lady. And after paying, they gave me this…

 

A fancy way to wait! It beeps and blinks when your drink is about ready for pickup. I’m a big hot green tea drinker, so whatever this drink tastes, I was ready for it. And it did not disappoint!

It says on the plastic cup, NOT YOUR ORDINARY CUP OF TEA. But this one is my cup of tea. I love how it smoothly glides when you sip and with occasional pauses to chew on the bits of panna cotta. They made the panna cotta mildly sweet so it doesn’t scream “I’m here!” and the texture is like silken tofu. I was thinking it was taho. Meanwhile, the tea itself is lovely. I made the right decision to have 50% sugar. I drink green tea without anything, so I’m not a fan of sweet teas. You can still taste the bitter and earthy essence of the tea without the icky aftertaste, thanks to mild sugar. The next time I’m going out for reading, blogging, tambay, etc., I’m choosing this over Starbucks or CBTL. It’s cheaper! Haha. I have yet to try Happy Lemon.

Serenitea is at Burgos Circle, BGC, City of Taguig.

4 thoughts on “Serenitea

Leave a comment